top of page

The National Baseball Congress is marking its 90th National Championship tournament this summer, after being a launchpad for some of the country’s top amateur talent since 1935. We have joined with the NBC in launching the “90 Years of NBC Champions” collection . Throughout the months of May-July, the “90 Years of NBC Champions” collection will spotlight nine of the National Baseball Congress’ most memorable champions with articles, social media features, and limited-edition commemorative shirts for each of the teams.

Bismarck Churchills

NBC Champions: 1935

The Bismarck Churchills, managed by Neil Churchill and supported by Abe Saperstein, won the 1935 NBC World Series with an integrated team featuring Satchel Paige and other Negro League stars. Paige's exceptional pitching led the Churchills to victory in the tournament, which marked a significant moment in baseball history for racial integration and showcased Paige's legendary talent as one of the greatest pitchers of all time.

Fort Wayne GE Voltmen

NBC Champions: 1946,1947,1948

The GE Club Voltmen, Fort Wayne General Electrics and simply General Electric were all names synonymous with championships in the city of Fort Wayne in the late 1940’s. The Voltmen competed in the Michigan-Indiana Semi-Pro Baseball League which in turn qualified them to compete for the National Semi-Pro Championship in Wichita, Kansas, today known as the National Baseball Congress World Series. The Voltmen won 3 consecutive NBC titles from 1947-1949.


Wichita Dreamliners

NBC Champions: 1962,1963,1965

The Wichita Rapid Transit Dreamliners, founded by Bernie Calkins, dominated the 1960s NBC World Series, winning three championships in 1962, 1963, and 1965. Calkins recruited top minor league and former major league players, offering some employment opportunities with his bus company, leading to their success with notable players like Jack O’Donnell, Rocky Krsnich, and Bobby Boyd.

Grand Rapids Sullivans

NBC Champions: 1960,1970,1983,1984

The Grand Rapids Sullivans were an amateur baseball team that were formed in 1953 by local businessman Bob Sullivan. Their home games were played at Valley Field in Grand Rapids, MI. The Sullivans appeared at every National Baseball Congress World Series from 1955 to 1987, winning the tournament four times. They even played in international tournaments such as Haarlem Baseball Week in the Netherlands, which they won five times. The Sullivans made their final appearance at the NBC World Series in 1991.

s-l1200 copy.png

Alaska Goldpanners

NBC Champions:

1972, 1973, 1974, 1976, 1980, 2002

Though started as a humble town team in the “North of the Range League”, the Alaska Goldpanners gained wide fame in 1962 after finishing second overall in the the National Baseball Congress Tournament, which is held annually in Wichita, Kansas. Over its 80 year history, n team has been more successful that the Goldpanners, who have won the championship game six times  and lost the championship game five times. The curiosity about the team’s Alaskan roots, mixed with the entertainment of a young team  composed entirely of collegians, endeared many fans to the Goldpanners. 

Liberal Bee Jays

NBC Champions:

1968, 1979, 1985, 2000, 2010

The Liberal Bee Jays have a long history in the National Baseball Congress. The team started in 1955 and was named after Byron Bancroft Johnson, the creator of the American Baseball League. In their nearly 70 years of existence, the Bee Jays have won five NBC World Series titles (1968, 1979, 1985, 2000 and 2010), with seven runner up finishes


El Dorado Broncos

NBC Champions: 1996, 1998, 2002

The El Dorado Broncos were a summer collegiate wood-bat baseball club based in El Dorado, Kansas, in the United States, that began as the Hutchinson Broncs in the Victory League in 1970. The Broncos moved from Hutchinson to become the Wichita Broncos in 1985, before moving to El Dorado in 1996. The Broncos won the NBC World Series in 1989, 1990, 1996, 1998 and 2009, and were runner-up in 1987 and 1994.

Seattle Studs

NBC Champions: 2013, 2015, 2019

Ben Cheney of Cheney Lumber Company in Tacoma, Washington founded the Seattle Studs in 1954, giving them the nickname "Studs". The nickname comes from Cheney's company, which copyrighted the 2 x 4 for building homes and structures. Cheney is also credited with standardizing the length of building studs at eight feet. 

The Seattle Studs are one of the oldest amateur baseball teams. They have led to the NBC World Series 27 times, and to a top 5 finish 15 times. They won their third National Baseball Congress World Series championship in 2019 with a 5-4 victory over Cheney Diamond Dawgs.


Santa Barbara Foresters

NBC Champions: 2006, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2020, 2021, 2022

The Santa Barbara Foresters are a summer league baseball team that plays in the California Collegiate League and shares Pershing Park with Santa Barbara City College. The team was founded in 1991 and has won the National Baseball Congress World Series ten times, the most of any team. Bill Pintard has managed the Foresters since 1995.

Waiting for a Future Release?
Want a Reminder?

Join our email list and get notified of new product releases and special offers!

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page